Whinger
Blogger
Share this content
0
5
1913

sage instant

sage instant

Greetings
Have sage instant v16.
Changed computer, so installed on new computer and now got to the point of opening it.
It says (instantly) "this data was created in a newer version of sage" then it looks for updates, says all updates ok, then closes.
I wouldn't mind but this is the exact disk used on the old pc where we used sage.
Any ideas please?
Thanks muchly

Replies

Please login or register to join the discussion.

avatar
By Whinger
08th Aug 2012 14:36

oh found it

found it.

deleted a file called "watermark.xml" in the data folder and it's ok now.

weird

Thanks (0)
09th Aug 2012 09:41

Time to move?

Hi there,

You seem to be coming across several Sage frustrations at the moment. Is it time to encourage clients to move to an alternative do you think?

Adrian
Movemybooks

Thanks (0)
23rd Aug 2012 17:06

You need to ring Sage

I had same problem but when I rang Sage they directed me to sage.co.uk/au and there are updates to install.

Thanks (0)
23rd Aug 2012 17:27

To all of you.

1. @Whinger that is the correct thing to do - it is all to do with your previous version of sage having had the updates installed. Obviously when you install from the disk again it doesnt have these updates.

 

2. @Adrian Pearson - they have fixed the problem, it was only one frustration and they have fixed the problem - why the need to move?

 

3. @pushtheriver - no need to phone sage, now the watermark file has been deleted the automatic updates will rerun and download the required ones.

Thanks (0)
avatar
23rd Aug 2012 18:27

@Si_Woodhams

Si_Woodhams wrote:

1. @Whinger that is the correct thing to do - it is all to do with your previous version of sage having had the updates installed. Obviously when you install from the disk again it doesnt have these updates.

 

2. @Adrian Pearson - they have fixed the problem, it was only one frustration and they have fixed the problem - why the need to move?

 

3. @pushtheriver - no need to phone sage, now the watermark file has been deleted the automatic updates will rerun and download the required ones.

1.  How on earth could anyone be expected to know they have to delete a file just because they're installing the same software on a different computer?

2.  Maybe trawl through this forum and you'll find a million other reasons - it's only a wild guess but I think you'll find there's probably more than one frustration with Sage.

3.  See point 1.

 

Thanks (0)