andy.partridge
Blogger
Share this content
0
5
1505

Sage Instant restore misery

Sage Instant restore misery

I moved my small practice away from Sage some years ago to VT, but maintained an Instant program in order to support a single client.

Over recent times this has worked well, but the client upgraded without me knowing and so I had Sage meltdown when I tried to restore their v 18 data. I have uninstalled and reinstalled my original v.17 program 3 times and each time I get the error message, 'this program was last used with v.18 data do you wish to upgrade now'. It doesn't matter if I click 'yes' or 'no' the program remains unusable.

Is this a Sage conspiracy to force the purchase of an upgrade or is there a simple way round this problem?

Thanks in advance.

PS. Just to save time this isn't a question about whether or not you can restore later version data to earlier version programs, I know you can't. It's about whether as a result of unwittingly attempting to do so, the original program is rendered unusable without purchasing an upgrade. 

Replies

Please login or register to join the discussion.

09th Dec 2012 20:51

Frustrating isn’t the word for it

You have to remove every trace of SAGE, formatting the hard disc is the quickest way. I now sack (on the spot) any client which decides to change to SAGE - it's banned, firm policy, end of. Nasty nasty nasty software.

Meanwhile, try navigating to where SAGE is stored (program files) and delete the folder - uninstall does not remove the data (accounts) folder.

Thanks (0)
avatar
09th Dec 2012 22:06

Copying Data

Mouse007 wrote:
Meanwhile, try navigating to where SAGE is stored (program files) and delete the folder - uninstall does not remove the data (accounts) folder.

That won't work as the data is not stored in the Program Files folder...

Assuming a standard install on Windows 7/Vista, do the following:

1. Go to the folder c:\programdata\sage\accounts\2011\demodata\accdata

2. Copy all the files in that folder

3. Paste them in to c:\programdata\sage\accounts\2011\company.000\accdata and overwrite the existing files.

You'll then be able to get back in to Sage.

 

John

Thanks (1)
09th Dec 2012 23:22

Dinosaur

johndon68 wrote:

That won't work as the data is not stored in the Program Files folder...

Another sneaky evil move by the great green dragon...

 

...Dinosaur

 

 

 

Thanks (1)
10th Dec 2012 09:29

Indebted

John, I owe you a beer (and mouse a tiny piece of cheddar). Thanks.

Thanks (0)
10th Dec 2012 20:08

Delete

Just found that I had to delete all the files in

c:\programdata\sage\accounts\2011\company.000\accdata

first (failed first time)

Thanks John, you can have my cheddar with that beer.

 

Thanks (1)