Share this content
0
39636

Any one else Bullied by Business Stream Scottish Water Company

Any one else Bullied by Business Stream...

Didn't find your answer?

Search AccountingWEB

Question and a rant at the same time.  Is any one else sick of  Business Stream Scottish Water Company Bully tactics. They have just invoiced me to the incorrect company 1st invoice. I now have to email because the person on the phone says "the computer say No "  I am joking but definitely on those lines.  They got the information wrong and then refused to change it on the phone after me ringing a ......0845 number which makes my blood boil. I have seen  some of my clients being systematically bullied and threaten with Legal letters and Ballifs and they do not go away.   This is has been going on for years now. Year after year the seem to continuously get away with it.     All I am wanting is feedback  about Business Stream.   I notice FSB Scotland never does anything either.  I am sure I am  not the only who has complaints about this company and their bully tactics of small business. At least I have a good Landlord who has a bit of wellie who made sure I was on the right rate but I would have been rightly stuck otherwise.   Believe me getting on the right rate with Business Stream is a task in itself .  Not all the small Business in Scotland have landlords who will help them out. Many thanks Sarah

Replies (61)

Please login or register to join the discussion.

avatar
By BKD
25th Mar 2013 14:58

It took us (my wife and myself) ...

... more than 2 years to have them agree to drop an invoice for £4.5k in respect of a property that her company had vacated 2 years before the start of period covered by the invoice. Apparently it was her responsibility, as outgoing tenant, to notify them - despite the fact that at the time of her vacating the property Business Stream did not exist. But that didn't seem to matter to them.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By sarah douglas
25th Mar 2013 16:40

It does,nt seem to matter even if you do notify them

I have a client that did notify of leaving and we had proof of the letters but nothing seem to matter.   I also had a client who spent 3 years arguing their toilet  was for the staff and not the public.                                                                                                                                                 When I moved into my new offices I was very aware of how business stream behave.  The set up here where I am is my office is 515sq ft so I could potentially be charged quite a lot.  The landlord here has no toilets in the individual units and offices and there are shared kitchens were you can wash your cups.  That's does not stop you from having a kettle and a bit of kitchen it just means it is without water and the kitchen is 10 seconds away and the toilets are kept very clean and is part of our rent.         One of my clients in here put a kitchen with water and a bathroom in and they have regretted it ever since as business stream keep increasing their bills and they have become huge and they are crippling her. I am not letting a tap any where near my office especially not when I have a lovely kitchen 10 seconds away and  I can fill the Kettle.   This is a real serious issue for Scottish Businesses  I fail to understand how the government lets this go on.    Anyone considering starting a business or moving to a new office need to consider Business stream charges very seriously.  

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Flynn001
03rd Apr 2013 21:37

Business Stream

You should try any get a new water connection from them. Nightmare, delay after delay after delay and it's every one else's fault but never their fault. 

Staff generally rude, incompetent and oh you can never get hold of them.

Just go directly to the complaints people

 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By PaulDiffley
05th Jun 2013 04:51

I've got no water services and I am getting chased

I rent an artist studio which has no water services at all and BS have demanded £950. I emailed them to explain this, they said that they would put my account on hold pending an inspection. Then a month later they started sending requests for imediate payment.

Thanks (0)
Replying to Attilioaccounting:
avatar
By Frh
02nd Feb 2016 09:28

Same problem
Hi I wonder how you got on as I have the same problem ... Thought it was resolved and two years later I get a reminder letter for £1446.59

Thanks (0)
avatar
By FrankArtist
21st Mar 2016 09:45

Seriously?? You got the same problem?

Thanks (0)
avatar
By sarah douglas
05th Jun 2013 10:41

That is a lot

Hi 

Have you got a date for when they are coming out.

Thanks (0)
Replying to Madi:
avatar
By PaulDiffley
05th Jun 2013 11:18

Waiting for a reply

Hi Sarah,

No I was not given a date.

On the 13th April BS said:

"I can confirm that I have sent a request for Scottish Water to attend the premises and verify which services you are liable for. Once the visit has taken place and we receive a response from Scottish Water your account and corresponding charges will then be amended accordingly. In the meantime I have placed your account on hold."

I've heard nothing since. Then on 30th May I received a reminder asking me to pay £939.19 immediately to avoid further action. I emailed them on Thursday to ask them what the deal was and I've heard nothing since.

Paul

Thanks (0)
avatar
By sarah douglas
06th Jun 2013 09:10

keep all your records

Hi 

I would recommend every time they send you a reminder or chase you . Post them a letter to their complaints department and say why you are not paying and record delivery or get proof of postage which is free.  Not email.  They get thousands of them a day and phone calls.  

This approach worked for one of my clients 

 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By waterbabe
30th Sep 2013 15:01

Complaints about Business Stream

Sarah, I sure as heck hope you are not in the water business.  First of all, your site will be served with a bulk meter, hence the water comes in at one point through a meter, which presumably your Landlord is paying and charging you through your contract.  Individual units are charged for waste services normally (depends on your contract with your Landlord) and that is based on the Rateable Value set by the Council.  If one of your clients put in a kitchen and bathroom, they would not be individually charged for the water as it comes through the bulk meter.  Also, it is irrelevant whether a toilet is used for the staff or joe public, its still using water and requires waste services. As to continually sending in complaints, totally irresponsible and does not help in the slightest, and no they don't get thousands of complaints everyday, A bit of a daft comment.     Paul, you may not have water facilities in your unit but you must have access to them (you would be unable to operate otherwise re  HSE compliance) and this being the case, you are still required to pay for water.  If you want to give anyone a hard time about this, go to the Wicks, they set the rules.         BKD - You would have told the Gas and Electricity Company, the Phone Company etc you were moving out why would you not tell your Water Company.  Scottish Water would have charged Business Stream for that period of time and they are entitled to request the money back. No other company would take your word for it. And lastly Sarah, the water industry works a bit like the gas and electricity business, you building has billing spids that always stay with the property, regardless of the Tenant.  Those spids are issued by Scottish Water and any licensed provider (including Business Stream) must go on the data provided by the Central Marketing Agency (the go between for the LP's and SW). You would be well advised to learn about your responsibilities and how the market operates before complaining.  Oh and no I don't work for Business Stream, just know the water industry.  Feel free to ask.

Thanks (0)
Replying to waterbabe:
avatar
By sarah douglas
23rd Oct 2016 00:10

Waterbabe clearly I am in the accountancy business and no I do not work for the water industry. all the business in our business centre pay their own business use. Business stream claim they can charge extra for a toilet in a coffee shop, where my clients shop was retail only. The fact is all the comments that have been made since prove my point business stream are bullies. I have only just seen your comment. Business have every right to complain.

Thanks (1)
avatar
By 0047419
21st Nov 2013 16:40

Business Stream

I receive a water bill in October and when I phoned to pay I was told that you have to pay £90 on top of your bill in the name of recovery fee. All my clients are in trouble with them. something need to be done to  stop them from doing this. Need to approach the government minsters to solve this problem

Thanks (1)
avatar
By Rhubarb123
07th Jan 2014 14:05

Business Stream

 

Complete Bully Boys I agree.

They just sent us a huge bill one day out of the blue. No earlier correspondence such as Hello we're your new supplier. On Challenging them and asking for proof of contract they just cut off our water of no benifit to Scotland Water costs will double to provide a dividend to the shareholders

They have no expertise or infrastructure

It's all carried out by Scottish water under contract

So why do we have them Mr Salmon?

Are we going to get more of this sort of thing with independance?

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Craig Allan
13th Jan 2014 22:07

Alternative to Business Stream

Hello,

 

The water services industry has been de-regulated by The Scottish Government. I work for one of the other licenced suppliers and can guarantee savings for Scottish businesses. Please get in touch if you would like to know more.

Thanks (0)
Replying to legerman:
avatar
By JANNYMAX
29th Jan 2014 23:12

Problems with Business Stream

Hi, I would like to know more. I am having problems with BS - the premises RV is £12,000 based on 2000 figures, now the RV is £7700, confirmed by the local council and also the assessor but BS say government told them to use 2000 figures so they cannot change unless premises have been structurally changed ( they haven't)- they advised me to go to my local MSP, which I have done - awaiting response. 

What can other suppliers do? Help :)

 

Joanne

Thanks (0)
Replying to vtsoftware:
avatar
By PETER Murphy
24th Feb 2014 10:33

UK Water

Joanne

 

We can help you but we need to see the documents.

 

Best way is to vote with your feet and move.

 

www.uk-water.com

 

We would be delighted to help out .

 

Peter 01360319090 

Thanks (0)
Replying to legerman:
avatar
By JANNYMAX
29th Jan 2014 23:14

Business Stream Alternative please

Craig Allan wrote:

Hello,

 

The water services industry has been de-regulated by The Scottish Government. I work for one of the other licenced suppliers and can guarantee savings for Scottish businesses. Please get in touch if you would like to know more.

 

 

Please tell me more.......

Thanks (0)
avatar
By nutility
25th Feb 2014 09:42

Compare competitive water suppliers

Hi, Can I suggest you vote with your feet and switch to another provider with better service and prices. You can get water quotes at www.powerswitch.com/compare-water-rates.htm 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By PETER Murphy
26th Feb 2014 13:50

NEW Water Supplier in Scotland

All

 

If you want a real company to give you best advice please ask us for a survey.

 

We are Not rate Tarts but a very professional Water supply company.

 

www.uk-water.com

We would be delighted to hear from any business interested in a listening supplier for water and water services.

 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By ROSE888
28th Feb 2014 21:45

Business Stream

 

NO CONTRACT, NO NOTICE. DISCONNECTION NOTICE.

I run a small bed & breakfast in the West Coast of Scotland, which i pay my water rates through my Council tax. I dont have a water meter.Out of the blue i was sent a bill for £512.95 dating back August 2013 and it was address to "THE OCCUPIER". I challenged them and refused to pay the bill as i paid my water through the council tax. Today i received from them a DISCONNECTION NOTICE. I had a heated telephone conversation with the Credit Manager regarding this Disconnection Notice.  He was not interested to what i was saying, all he wanted me is  to confirm my full name and that i owed the debt. In the end i end up putting the phone down on him and said i will take it further.   I will be filing a complaint to the company today.

Has anyone had the same problem ? Can they disconnect me if part of the business is also for private use and there is no meter in the property?  If i do need to pay for water for the business side i was not given a choice , i would not have chosen BUSINESS STREAM. They have decided  to jump on board and informed me that i owed them money. It a shame its the weekend, i cant do anything till monday morning.

We all should write to the Managing Directors (Mr. Mark Powels) with our complaints.

Thanks (0)
Replying to ugdiv:
avatar
By sofaking
12th Nov 2014 16:45

Hi,

 

We have had a long running dispute with them and we even reported them to Ombudsman who found in our favour and clearly stated that Scottish Water/Business Stream were in breach of the regulations and the Market Code because they did not follow the regulations and did not give proper notice required under section 5.4.11(iii) they must give 15 Business days for you to choose a supplier of your choice is the property is a GAP SITE. 

I believe that their first bill is illegal as they cannot be legally authorised  if the licence they claim to have is obtained by deception. Which it must be if they have not followed the regulations.

I was thinking of starting a campaign on CHANGE to highlight this problem and would do this if there was evidence of a strong sign up rate which there appears to be if this site anything to go by.

 

Thanks (1)
avatar
By FrankArtist
21st Nov 2014 15:11

I agree!

Please message me more details as my mother is constantly having issues with Business Stream!

Thanks (0)
avatar
By lynnt
09th Apr 2014 12:35

Business Stream ...underhand practices

Just entered into another fight with business stream..

Last year they swore blind that my water meter reading was over 200 points more than it was. Pretty much called me a liar! When I went and took pictures and e-mailed to them I got no apology but they eventually adjusted my bill from around £3k to £900!

 

We have just moved our workspace and they refuse to accept our last date at our old place even though the council have confirmed the date that we vacated our old place and send an officila report onto BS! Even worse they have just set up a DD on my bank account which was unathorised! I don't know how they were able to do it! criminal! This could all be so easily avoided but now I have to spend time, writing, complaining and fighting to be treated in a courteous and fair manner.. Poor show really..

Not enough businesses are aware that they can change, so BS continue to have the monopoly! We are trying to switch but BS not forthcoming with the information that the new company need. 

Visit Scottish Water for more info. I am considering a complaint to the water commission as I agree that BS deploy bully boy tactics and don't seem focused on the customer at all..

http://www.scottishwater.co.uk/

 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By whitelight
14th May 2014 15:27

business stream ripping me off?

I am currently going through an issue with business stream. Basically I was charged £453.54 for a year. I am a small business and I have 15mm meter size. One toilet only for my use. I feel that the bill is very large. But then I am charged for a year £546.37. I am now being threatening to court if I don’t pay up.... But I am trying to figure out why it’s costing me £546 for one years use. As well they have not yet to visit my studio and read my meter..... Not sure what i should do....

Thanks (0)
Replying to itp3e:
avatar
By gregmckenna7
07th Jan 2016 13:28

Hi there,

I hear that pretty much everyday with Business stream, they are always causing trouble.

If you are looking to get onto a cheaper rate and overall a better company please drop me a reply.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Neil Macaulay
29th May 2014 15:11

Business Stream

This company is a disgrace,

 

After a year of threatening letters, no call backs and wrong information

 

I complained to the SPSO Ombudsman who ruled in my favour.

 

My payments are up-to-date, however the bad customer service continues-

 

From Business Stream I received the following invoices-

 

29/03/14- £2012.66

14/04/14- £729.07

07/05/14 - £1997.32

09/05/14- £819.07

 

And today I received a letter from a debt collection agency on their behalf for £1891.98

 

Finally been called back by a manager who tried to explain they were at fault and my profile had not been updated,

 

I am in the process of raising a further complaint with SPSO 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Joeideal
29th Aug 2014 12:21

Don't use it why are we charged over the top for it

I also have had a nightmare of a time with Business stream, The reality is i don't use the water so why am i paying way over the odds for it, you wouldn't pay full cost for other services you were not using, i,m just wondering if this could be borderline illegal or illegal either under our Scottish government or the european laws. Guy appeared in door out of blue and told i was due business stream over £1000.00 this has risen to £3000 and going to court which i,m intending to appear to, hoping to bring the Scottish government to answer this publicly ( why are small business being robbed like this and bullied. Mr Salmond why is this happening, ps don't forget small business rates ) Scottish water visit 1 guy 1 sit in van said ok your not using water rear derelict just as you said mr Brown goodby, twice this has happened, but Business stream still fail to re-adjust or remove the bills. I have complained to the Scottish goverment water division that i was not using water but i,m willing to pay for drainage as i have always explained to Business stream. The Scottish government water division called business stream to sort this out and business stream ignored. I was then told by the Scottish Government water division that Business stream does have serious issues with customer care and delays in replying to customer disputes and measures were needing put in place to rectify this serious problem as complaints were ever mounting. ( This is Really bad for Mr Salmond, he needs small business and his unfair tax is not good for relations ) Now like all if i,m using water i,m willing to pay for it, but the reality for me is i don't use the water, i have lead pipes in the rear of an old building which is pretty derelict and unsafe, so i do not use, Its a rented building with a single shared water supply. Business stream were contacted to fit the free water meters as paid for the Scottish government and i was told shared system cant be done then after amassing some more phone calls to the Business stream, i was told no meters left Scottish government had run out of cash to fit them. I have now had enough 3 years of hell, i have asked Business stream to take me to court and i am appearing or appealing against them. Someone needs to listen and put a stop to this ridiculas senario for all small business with genuine complaints..

Thanks (0)
avatar
By FrankArtist
25th Jul 2014 02:09

BBC Reporting Scotland on Business Stream

Hi Everyone!

Like you, I've had my share of bad experiences with Business Stream. They messed up a relative's water reading which took three years to resolve. Now my mother who owns a takeaway is getting harassment from them over a bill they clearly miscalculated!

So enough is enough.

I'm gathering up some case studies of people who have had awful experience with Business Stream. I have a friend who works in BBC Reporting Scotland and might be interested in broadcasting a story of people being mistreated by Business Stream.

If any of you have had bad experiences with Business Stream and like to share, please share them with me!

Kind Regards,

Frank

Thanks (0)
Replying to Tax Dragon:
avatar
By acc scot
15th Jul 2015 11:13

Nikki

Accountability Scotland have now decided that Business Stream are not only unethical, but suffering from "Greed Fraud and Corrupt Practice" syndrome. a cultural within business stream change is required.

we suggest that everyone join this campaign.... 

https://www.change.org/p/independant-enquiery-into-scottish-water-busine...

Business Stream are currently destroying small business's at a remarkable rate with their bullying and harassment tactics. John Mason MSP, Nicola Sturgeon MSP, and John Swinney MSP are all worth contacting - and have been by their constituents already.

Step One: Cease taking people to court. it wastes everyone's time and money especially the court's - why don't you use ADR ?

Step Two: Start negotiating, taking responsibility for cock[***] ups and be truthful - i know that is difficult and you may be fired for so doing

Step Three: Get a behavious of "reasonable behaviour" within business stream going

Thanks (0)
Replying to FrankArtist:
avatar
By PeterPerfect
21st Oct 2016 19:53

I know your post was in 2014 but if your friend is doing a follow up I would be willing to let them hear my story as its still happening in 2016.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Shaddow
07th Aug 2014 11:12

Water

Since De Regulation there are more company's to choose from I went to Clear Business Water Ltd  based in Hamilton theyre strapline says it all really same water Better Price Better Service

Thanks (1)
avatar
By FrankArtist
01st Sep 2014 17:33

BBC Reporting Scotland + Newspaper media within Scotland

Hi All,

As you know I've been having a bad time with Business Stream. They are now harassing my mother to pay a completly ridiculous water bill in a space of three months. They have quoted her over £3000 for one quarter then normal (about £300) in the next quarter?

When I tried challanging them with my lawyer, they've been bombarding my mother with Debt Collection notices and now threatening to cut off the water? I assuming that they are trying to make her pay for the water usage during the period that the premises was vacant before Oct 2011. When I resubmit the letter that was sent to Business Stream in Oct 2011 highlighting a new occupant plus the water meter reading, they are not accepting it as they are accusing us for lying the actual water reading. Excuse me, but didn't they accept the original letter when it was sent and provided my mother with a new account number in Oct 2011, but now they don't accept it???

I've had enough. I now provided the BBC Scotland information on Business Stream#s dealings with customers plus cases from the ombudsman where the company has been in the wrong. Furthermore I'm gathering more cases online on Business Stream. So everyone who has had problems with the water firm, could you send me your horror stories with Business Stream. Furthermore, I've got journalists from other news papers (eg Scotsman etc) wlling to do something. Please message me your stories.

Thanks!

Frank

Thanks (0)
avatar
By NikkiBrown
09th Sep 2014 17:07

Hi JanineH,

 

If you’d like me to pass your details onto our customer service team please PM me your details including a telephone number.

 

Thanks Nikki.

 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Amy.Clark
01st Dec 2014 16:22

A soloution to all of your problems.

.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Jamie @ TWCS
27th Oct 2014 14:48

Thames Water Commercial Services : Trusted Water Provider

Thames Water is the largest water supply company in the UK and through our business Thames Water Commercial Services,  we are able to supply  both water and waste water services in Scotland.

As your trusted supplier, Thames Water Commercial Services have a full range of specialist services that enable us to better manage our clients water and waste water usage needs. This can lead to greater water efficiencies, improve sustainability and lower costs associated with water usage at your business.

Please visit www.thameswater.co.uk/commercial or  contact 07747644556

 

Thanks ,

 

Jamie McDonald

Thames Water Commercial Services

 

 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By sofaking
12th Nov 2014 17:59

Petition on Change to have Business Stream investigated

I would ask all the people who have complained about Business Stream to sign a petition on Change which is calling for an Independent Enquiry into their bullying tactics and seeking compensation for their abuse and over charging of the business community in Scotland.

Link to the Change petition is:

https://www.change.org/p/independant-enquiery-into-scottish-water-busine...

Please sign and share this to help STOP Scottish Water/Business Stream bullying in Scotland

Thanks (2)
avatar
By acc scot
12th Jul 2015 12:24

Join Accountability Scotland and help us to get this sorted.

Thanks (1)
avatar
By carriemeechan
14th Jan 2015 13:09

Business Stream NO HELP Just threating demands

At end of 2013 I was contacted by Business Stream informing me that I had over paid for my water at my Irvine clinic and no further payments would be taken until this was sorted. Great you might think but 10 months later I reveived a bill for £2247.67 which included £90 fine. When I phoned and enquired about this I was informed that I had used a lot more water than normal. I explained that this was the 1st contact I had with Business Stream from last time in Dec 2013 and that the bill could not be correct, considering before Dec 2013 I was paying £49 per month and seem to have over paid by Dec 2013. I explained that we had a water leal which damaged the clinic and our insurance was dealing with the damage. Business Stream then said they would investigate the water loss and get back to me. I had contacted them on a few occassions asking if they had got any further but was told still looking into.  The next contact I had was from Alan from their debt agency saying that I had to make payment now. I explain to Alan that Business Stream are still looking into it, he replied that they sent me an email on 9th Dec 2014 informing me that the amount stands as per following -    As the water was loss through the sewage system scottish water would not amended the bill and if Business Stream raised the question with Scottish water they would reject it.  I informed Alan from the debt agency that I did not receive this email which he replied aburptly that I did, (so rude) Alan who had a terriable attiuted towards me reluctantly sent me a copy of the email, that I did not receive then demanded that I sort this now which I replied that I will get back to him.  To me Business Stream have decided not to take this complaint to Scottish water even although they know we could have not consumed this amount of water. Today i have contacted scottish business water direct myself also business stream.  For many years we have paid Business Stream direct debt with no problems, but soon as we contacted them about water leak they dismiss our small business.  I dont know what will happen now only hope this can be sorted we only have a sink and toilet that is used by one member of staff wednesday and thursday the rest of the week Strathearn clinic is closed.  Business Stream do not care about small businesses what they should remember if it wasnt for businesses they would not have a company. I will be looking into changing. 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By burns728
20th Jan 2015 17:11

Scottish Water Business Stream complaints

.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By barbara drummond
05th Mar 2015 19:22

I am helping my friend, a small shop owner to battle Business Stream. They started demanding 'unpaid account ' money after he changed suppliers. They have sent lawyers letters and keep phoning. There is no outstanding balance and the charges they quote are in excess of their stated annual charges.They are also backdating charges. All bills were paid by direct debit. We are not paying but need some legal advice.

 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By sherif1715
27th Apr 2015 12:28

my story with business stream
After a long verbal dispute with Business Stream regarding the suppy point id ; 200168380150/waste supply point id; 200168380207 for the commercial retail property 249 argyle street glasgow G2 8DL, I have achieved nothing on a compromise of an estimated water bill for an unbelievable anount of money, 4,221.08 pounds for the period september 2013 until march 2015. It s a retail store with one and a half employees who do not use this toilet facility as it is broken, we are not a catering unit or have a toilet which is in use by the public so how can this bill be possible, this is a disgrace and it is enough to put a small business out of business, this is a ridiculous amount of money and there is no reasoning with these peolpe. i have spent hours on the phone trying to reason wih these people.i have been advised to apply for re-assessmenton line in their web page which showed my charges less then half of what i ve been charged. they said they will look in to it,then i ve been told to apply to get a meter put in to the premises which i did ,it was put on the 23 /03/2015,while i ve been waiting for answer regarding the re-assessment i received a further bill from business stream topped up with a recovery charges of90 pounds . How can they charge this unreasonable amount when there was no water meter,when their manager told me to contribute with some payment towards the outstanding balance till they look at my re-assessmentwhich i did,suddenly today i have been told by one member of their team the re-assessment is complete and it was meant to affect the future bills if you had not have the meter put on and it snot going to change the previous bill. this is extorion to thehighest level. i have spoken to every member of their team to their manager the only thing i have been told just to put me to their credit control team to find away for me to pay this extortinate bill , I am begging you to help me as this bill will close down my business.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By wkc247
01st Jun 2015 22:36

my story

i was renting a property with a couple of friends to store and work on our cars. Only using water to wash our cars couple times a week, using sink or flushing the toilets. 3.5years out the blue get a phone call from them and backdated from when we moved in and get a bill for almost 3k. We didnt have a water meter installed and noone else in the area of rented properties had a bill (next door to me were car valeters that washed cars daily) upped and left when heard of my bill. It wasnt mentioned in our contact about any waterbill and when spoke to the landlord they said we should of known, they didnt tell us anything and contract only mentioned electricity. Now theyve tried to take me to court, bill is now almost 4k with late payment/legal fees and now threatened to make bankrupt if i dont pay or auctioning off my belongings. can they do this? i dont know what to do, not willing to pay when i know other people who have rented at the same time and have gotten away with it.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By gregmckenna7
07th Jan 2016 13:00

Business Stream alternatives

Hi guys,

I deal with a lot of complaints concerning business stream on a daily basis, the company seems to hassle its customers over the phone quite frequently. If anyone is looking for a cheaper price plan there are big savings to be made depending on your usage of course. I have contacts that would be able to do this for you, drop me a comment and I can see what I can do. Trust me there are a lot better companies out there. 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By mikeflys
14th Jan 2016 21:56

business stream

Hard to add to all the foregoing negatives in any "positive " way.

So i won't bother.

Potted version goes like this -

Been getting bills in my name and address for over a year now.

Had 9 visits from Business Stream or Scottish Water representatives in this period.

ALL of them agreed that the bill was against a water meter in a neighbouring unit.

I didn't even have a meter for over 6 months from the time they started to bill me!

Despite e-mails - phone calls and letters The only response I have had is from their debt collector.

My son in next door unit refused to sign up with them, but has just had a FINAL bill for over £500 !

They charge for the water coming off the roof and down the gutters which we pay repair and maintenance on. WHY? Will they clean my gutters if they are blocked ?

Also there are 4 businesses under the same roof in a 2 storey building - but we all get charged.

They charge for the water running down the drain on the road OUTSIDE the premises, and we ALL get charged. WHY?

Has the government given a licence to avaricious, unscrupulous,Usury?

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks (0)
avatar
By GProctor
26th Apr 2016 17:28

Buisness Stream
I too am having an absolute nightmare with Buisness stream They do not reply to any e mails or listen to you when you call total bullying tactics
My Buisness suffered last Oct 2015 with a burst pipe caused by Buisness stream opening floodgates and causing major flow of water which came up through the main road and completely burst my water pipe I got 2 water board employees to come out and they told me what had happened I had to go to the expense of putting in a new full water pipe from the front right round the side to the back of the property due to this I then got onto Buisness stream who did not want to know and consequently sent me a bill for £3000 I have always paid by direct debit and suddenly my bill jumped from £133 a month to £3000 in 2 weeks !!!!
Then I RECIEVED another letter telling me my monthly payments were going up this new total was ludicrous stating that I would be paying over £9000 a year !!!!
On numerous occasions I tried to talk to someone no one would listen I e mailed complaints department and nothing back from them only a letter demanding payment of the £3000 I cannot understand how you can resolve any issues if no one will talk to you
The only reply from Buisness stream is demanding letters more charges on top and taking you to court ??
Is this customer service !!!!!

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Mckin
04th Jun 2016 15:56

I help in a small shop with 1 toilet and 1 sink . Due to the nature of this business there is 1 staff member in 5 days a week and approximately 4 clients in per day . Business Stream have been refusing to supply a meter to the water supply as we contested there charges . Instead they are threatening with court and are demanding immediate payment ofor over £3400 . No one seams to be able to help . The hairdressing salon across the road pays them £40 per month . How this can be justified is beyond me . I am now having to deal with a debt collection company to pay this off in order to keep the shop open .

Thanks (0)
Replying to Mckin:
Hallerud at Easter
By DJKL
04th Jun 2016 22:46

Do remember that the bill has two components, consumption/waste, based on either meter or RV and surface water, based on RV.

Whilst a meter may reduce the first it does nothing re the second.

They are a pain, we have them turning up unannounced at our offices all the time re units we own.

We have found, given our office is not generally the unit they want info regarding, that if we ask them to make an appointment to speak to us or address their questions in writing it does seem to resolve issues, albeit slowly; I think part of the secret is ensuring they need your cooperation more than you need theirs and making them work for the information; they seem to value it more via e mail/writing/arranged meeting than if merely told at a random visit when the member of their staff seems to forget everything they have been told and you have another dropping in with the same questions 4 weeks later.

However not sure how effective when it is your bill and they are brandishing o/s invoices, but 95 times out of 100 re our let units they will sort once they get the details in writing sosending in copy licences/leases appears to be the most effective tactic.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By PeterPerfect
21st Oct 2016 20:11

Over £1000 for a £97 bill - Business Stream

I occupied a unit until May 2015, rented to me By South Lanarkshire Council.
Before the date we moved out I called Business Stream to let them know, South Lanarkshire Council also sent them a Tenancy Update Notice stating the above date for us moving out and providing alternative contact details such as my home address and business phone number, we still have the same business phone number now.
I had paid all the bills up to date before this and was waiting on my final bill which I calculated at one month it would be around £100.

At the begining of October 2016 I received a letter from a debt collection company demanding £1097 to be paid immediately.
I contacted Business Stream who said I needed proof that I moved out in May 2015, although they already received it in a phone call from myself and the letter from South Lanarkshire Council.

I supplied said documentaion and was assured it would be sorted.
After 3 weeks on emails back and forth the last said the bill was £836.73, the majority was for employing a debt collection company to find me, part was for Scottish Water disconecting the water and the very small part that was left was my water usage.
This I found out is £97

Surely they must try everything to contact me first, especially as they had alternative contact details and my phone number before contacting a debt collection company.

I found out that they kept sending invoices to the unit after I had moved and even sent invoices to the unit after I contacted them.

I've asked for this matter to be moved higher and will make a complaint in writing tomorrow.
I will also be contacting my local MSP as well as the SPSO.

Has anyone got any advice on how to deal with this, I don't think I could handle years of arguing with Business Stream.

Thanks (0)
Replying to PeterPerfect:
avatar
By sarah douglas
23rd Oct 2016 01:22

Hi Peter
I wrote this question and I had no idea so many had read it and made comments. Their was only about 5 made initially. I am quite shocked. I think the advice DKL gave in June 2016 is good. I would also keep copies and recorded delivery as to why you are not paying. As you say your local councillor should be able to help you or contact your MSP.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By sarah douglas
23rd Oct 2016 00:54

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/local-news/stream-complaints-ayr-busin...

I have just seen this article I was unaware that Scottish Government had awarded the new contract to another firm. Very interesting

Thanks (0)

Pages

Share this content