Share this content
0
451

How do I delete a client from my HMRC list?

.

Didn't find your answer?

Search AccountingWEB

After logging on to HMRC and selecting a client, when I click on delete, I get this message:

ERROR: The form might have been submitted without your consent. Please review its contents before submitting.

Any ideas? SNAFU?

Replies (7)

Please login or register to join the discussion.

By ireallyshouldknowthisbut
11th Sep 2019 12:12

sheesh.

Well it might have been submitted without your consent, but then you wouldn't be reading the message, would you?

HMRC IT at its finest.

Thanks (3)
avatar
By vinylnobbynobbs
11th Sep 2019 13:33

I have had the same message this morning.

Thanks (1)
Replying to vinylnobbynobbs:
By Red Leader
11th Sep 2019 14:58

Glad it's not just me!

Thanks (0)
avatar
By CJaneH
11th Sep 2019 17:13

In the past when deleting a client on line I found HMRC did not remove me from their data base. The deletion stopped me being able to access the client on line but at a later date I would received copies of tax calculations relating to adjustments made under PAYE.

I write to HMRC to get clients deleted and check to see when I can no longer access them on line.

Thanks (0)
Replying to CJaneH:
avatar
By Southwestbeancounter
11th Sep 2019 18:04

I think that was partly because the PAYE and SA systems are separate or at least used to be. The only way I eventually got taken off of a client's PAYE account was to constantly return to HMRC the unwanted post they sent me - it took years but it worked eventually!!!

Thanks (0)
avatar
By johnhemming
11th Sep 2019 17:52

What HMRC say relating to the Agents API is that when a client appoints another agent the original record is deleted. I think also clients can remove an appointment.

I don't know exactly what happens if an agent says they don't want a client.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By SXGuy
12th Sep 2019 08:34

Sadly, removing a client online, just removes access to their data, unless you specifically write to the department dealing with the particular tax and ask to be removed, or the client's new accountant submits authorisation, you will still be listed as agent.

Ive had a few situations where an ex client has either not appointed a new agent or the new agent hasn't requested authorisation and I still receive HMRC letters regarding them.

Only 1 last month where HMRC letter had only someones NI number and no other reference, I had to chase with a letter to confirm who it was they were referring to, to which I discovered it was an ex client from quite a few years ago, even though we had already removed them from HMRC's online portal.

Thanks (0)
Share this content