Share this content

how to cancel client's QBO subsciption

Didn't find your answer?

i have QB Accountant and one of the client's QB self-employed subscriptions is via my account. They've incorporated and no longer need the 9unused) QBSE subscription, however i don't seem to be able to cancel it.

 

When I go to Cog/Subscriptions and billings, i get a list of each of my subscriptions, the dropdown on the clien name says " QBSE, £4pcm, cancel" (the underline meaning a link). When I click on the cancel link, a window pops up telling me its going to transfer the subscription to the client, with a transfer licence/don't transfer option. Don't transfer is effectively just a 'back' key.

 

I don't want to transfer the licence to the client, it's unused, unwanted and doing so will piss them off.

How do I just shut it down?

Thanks

Replies (13)

Please login or register to join the discussion.

avatar
By IWantToLearn
24th Jun 2022 08:59

I had the exact same issue a while back. I rang Quickbooks support and they said I had to transfer it to the client and then if they didn't pick it up it would just make the account inactive.

I was also in the same situation as you as I knew it would pee off the client...

This was around a year+ ago so I would have thought that they would have made a simpler way to cancel, clearly not.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By rmillaree
24th Jun 2022 09:26

"I don't want to transfer the licence to the client, it's unused, unwanted and doing so will pee them off."

Why - ultimately no one knows the future - so it makes complete sense that you should pass "control" formally over to them - so if they ever wanted to access their data or restart subscription at least they have the ability to do so. Them not having ability to access their data would be crazy imho.

Presumably when you pass control over to them they get a message they can simply ignore and access will be frozen - why would that pee them off ?

Thanks (1)
avatar
By Hugo Fair
24th Jun 2022 10:32

Are all these cancellation/transfer options meant to save money or merely to vary the access rights?

Thanks (1)
Replying to Hugo Fair:
avatar
By rmillaree
24th Jun 2022 10:55

Its all about the access rights specifically main contact - quickbook quite rightly need someone to have the "main access rights" and if it aint the agent then it must be the client - hence the need to transfer over to client - even though practicably speaking the client will not use or need the access it still needs to be done that way.

Pricing will come into it though as the client would not get the same discounted price available to the agent if they did about turn and signup themselves.

all that happens ref pricing is that the client would get email saying they need to start paying if they want access - simply ignore if access not required and job done.

Thanks (1)
Replying to rmillaree:
avatar
By Hugo Fair
24th Jun 2022 11:29

Thanks ... as I suspected (which is why I asked the question).

So a perfectly reasonable response from QBO - leaving a simple decision for OP & client to resolve regarding the balance between costs and (perceived) hassle.

Thanks (1)
Replying to rmillaree:
avatar
By IWantToLearn
24th Jun 2022 20:03

rmillaree wrote:

Its all about the access rights specifically main contact - quickbook quite rightly need someone to have the "main access rights" and if it aint the agent then it must be the client - hence the need to transfer over to client - even though practicably speaking the client will not use or need the access it still needs to be done that way.

Pricing will come into it though as the client would not get the same discounted price available to the agent if they did about turn and signup themselves.

all that happens ref pricing is that the client would get email saying they need to start paying if they want access - simply ignore if access not required and job done.

Hi Rmillaree,

My understanding of the system is that when billing is transfered on Quickbooks it doesn't automatically transfer the main access rights: primary admin.

I've multiple had instances where the client's previous accountant was billed, the previous accountant transfered the billing to client and then the client couldn't transfer it over to us as the previous ccountant held primary admin access. We had to request it from Quickbooks which takes roughly 30 days.

Thanks (0)
Replying to IWantToLearn:
avatar
By rmillaree
25th Jun 2022 09:44

Sorry i didnt realise swapping primary user may be an issue - that really shouldnt come into it unless old acountant is primary user still and not playing ball.

You are correct in what you say here ref primary user - i would say the following though

The "primary admin" issue is only an issue if its neither you nor the client - eg primary admin is old acountant. In that circumtanace your old accountant simply swaps the primary admin over to you or client - this should be requested from the prior accountant as part of the transfer process at the outset so it should never an issue uinless they go awol - in which case the client would need to provede proof to quickboks they are the business owner

Once either you or the client is the primary admin then that primary admin can change the primary admin whenever they want. So if you stop subscrpitions by transferring payment ownership back to client at the same time you would make them the primary admin - so that IF they wanted to they could do whatever they want later on.

Still not sure why the op thought the client would be upset if transfer was passed back to them - its simply an email or two that they can ignore.

From covering ones own back position if client falls out with you later and may want to access their data for hmrc visit or similar - i would not want to be in a position where i had not given the client the opportunity to access their data later on if they so wanted. If they dont need it no biggie as far as i am concerned i simply dont understand why they would be anoyed here - if quickbooks pester client then really one email telling quickbooks to leave them alone should do - any client should be able to sort that out.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By carnmores
24th Jun 2022 15:46

this is a result of their flawed sales strategy, 10 clients for year for a £1 so we are left with unused subscriptions in year2 that we don't want and ant seem to get rid off.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By JD
24th Jun 2022 16:31

I understand that if you have your email address in the client details, then transfer to client, you will then get the message which can be ignored...leaving the account frozen.

Thanks (1)
Replying to JD:
ALISK
By atleastisoundknowledgable...
24th Jun 2022 16:38

Why didn’t I think of that!
Great, thanks.

Thanks (0)
Replying to JD:
avatar
By Hugo Fair
24th Jun 2022 17:24

Edward de Bono would be proud of you!

Thanks (1)
Replying to Hugo Fair:
avatar
By JD
24th Jun 2022 20:34

Thanks Hugo, a compliment indeed..

Thanks (1)
RedFive
By RedFive
24th Jun 2022 19:09

As above. Remove the client as a user. You are left as the admin / only user.

Transfer / cancel subscription, job done.

Thanks (1)
Share this content