Share this content
0
2589

Roger Rabbit's opinion on Any Answers

Roger Rabbit's opinion on Any Answers

Didn't find your answer?

Search AccountingWEB

Whilst reading the replies to Hywell's question on Al Fayed's forward tax agreement I noticed Roger Rabit's observation.

"Whether poster is a lecturer or student, or something else, the question is more interesting than many of the queries posted here, which consist of semi-competent people in practice asking basic questions.
Equipped with answers provided for free by others, they then proceed to charge their hapless clients - Good work!"

I read any answers quite regularly and I find it a very useful resource. Admittedly sometimes questions cover very basic issues, then again some questions cover issues that some of us may never have come across before whether they be basic or complex issues. The answer can be simple when you know. But if you look at the decided cases from the Tax Tribunal sometimes issues that appear simple give rise to lengthy decisions that show the issue was not straightforward.

I find Roger's comment very rude. What do you think?

Raymond Lisle

Replies

Please login or register to join the discussion.

avatar
16th May 2007 12:48

i agree with Roger re some of the comments
there is no need to deride a questioner i find this particular angle of the subject very interesting some of the comments were staggering

Thanks (0)
avatar
15th May 2007 11:48

perhaps
he was having a bad day?

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Anonymous
15th May 2007 12:02

Not rude,
just not aware that our members come from all walks of life and so not all are accountants/solicitors in practice, some are just happless souls who don't understand the basics and so have to ask "basic questions".

Just fair,
I thought the comment was ok given the way that people slammed into the unfortunate Hywell, it was a good question, after all.

Nichola Ross Martin
Tax editor, Accountingweb

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Anonymous
15th May 2007 13:27

Its good to talk..
Does Mr Rabbit work in practice? If you do, then you may know that feeling that you just need to talk to someone - it maybe basic, it may be complex.

Few (I hope) will use Aweb as the only source of technical advice - but opinions from the respected members of the community (Soper/Rees/Newth/Rabbit (even!)/Sartoris/Peacock/Greenwood - to name a few) are invaluable in providing pointers. The other day (I can't find the link) a question was asked which in my mind had 3 possible answers - guess what - 3 notable responses from 3 well known members each argued 3 different answers. Tax/Accounts contain so much uncertainty that Any Answers provides a place to ask the question - which can in itself can be cathartic - and share tales of woe (PAYE/SA filing/HMRC generally).
Roger's entitled to his opinion - but he may not be using Aweb in the same way that others do.

Thanks (0)
avatar
16th May 2007 14:01

ignore him
he does the same at family gatherings..
and graps most of the carrots.

jr

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Anonymous
25th May 2007 08:21

The tranquility surrounding this thread?
RR is not his usual anymore. He did not make his noisy entry yet. WHy? Hope he is still actively alive now as he is branded an eccentric animal. Moansssssss.........

Thanks (0)
avatar
15th May 2007 13:54

Maybe/maybe not
At least Roger is consistent in his opinion. See this posting from several years ago.

"roger rabbit, 11-Feb-2003

Yes Men in Suits
As a pseudonym user who has in the past had a lot of stick here over my anonymity, my comment is: carry on Black Cab Man.
Most of the people on this board are freeloading tax unprofessionals, charging their clients for answers to questions they have obtained here for free. I hope for the sake of these clients they have adequate PI insurance cover.

Oh and come back Mr Tax, your fans have missed you. "


Maybe expressed a bit strongly but there have been times where students have put on a question that is obviously an essay or assignment they are doing. Some people do ask very simple questions. Some people ask questions and then object to the answer they are given. Some people say thank you for answers. Some people are downright rude. Some people are really pleasant. Seems almost like real life in cyberspace.

Thanks (0)
avatar
15th May 2007 14:15

What would Chris say?
As Chris Tarrant would say "It's easy when you know the answer"

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Anonymous
15th May 2007 13:00

Extremely Useful (and sometimes lazy)
I am a sole practitioner, I find AW useful when I have an issue that I can't easily find in a reference book. It is also handy to get a second opinion (or 23 second opinions). I enjoy some of the less technical threads - it is a community, it helps me understand how people feel and some of the issues they struggle with - knowing I wasn't the only one having problems with new CIS and PAYE on line filing helped (even if HMRC couldn't).

Regarding roger rabbit's comments - it's his opinion. I've seen worse. However, it is quite debateable to make that judgement - after all, out of 23 second opinions, you could have a couple of trolls in there that make you more confused than before you started. Also, there is no guarantee whatsoever that the advice is right.

Thanks (0)
avatar
By Anonymous
17th May 2007 17:19

.
Not sure Roger is rude, more a case I think of not suffering fools, and may be a case of fed up seeing some very basic and certainly repetitive questions.

There does on occasion appear to be questions from those who are obviously practicing that are very basic and this is quite scary, but like you say Raymond, I also read the any answers which I too find a useful resource, a bit like a refresher at times, and very basic at others.

Jason
Holden Associates
The Small Business Blog

Thanks (0)
avatar
By NeilW
17th May 2007 18:52

The only foolish question is the one not asked
I have to say I find the attitude of some members depressing. They guard their 'knowledge' with the same attitude as a miser guards his coins. Essentially they are terrified that they will be found wanting, or they have a strange sort of superiority complex.

In a community based on open and honest sharing of information the members of that community rise to the highest level of all the knowledge within that community. Everybody benefits - clients get a better service and individuals appear to have a high level of knowledge on all subjects - which is good for fees.

As tax and accounting moves increasingly from the black and white to a morass of shades of grey it becomes increasingly important to 'ask the audience' on all manner of subjects. The opinions you gather from that research help guide your decisions.

I'm quite happy to answer all the questions I can, and have a good pop at those where I'm hazy. In a community setting a discussion then ensues and a consensus appears. Everybody is wiser.

What you have to do is ignore the snipers. The troll comment hidden behind a pseudonym should simply be disregarded as an attempt to get a rise out of people.

All of us are semi-competent people in practice asking basic questions. None of us knows everything, that's why we're here.

NeilW

Thanks (0)
avatar
17th May 2007 15:26

I'm with RR
If it is in Frank Wood then it should not really make it here!

Thanks (0)
avatar
21st May 2007 12:46

To Prof TOTs (Sr)
OK, its Monday morning, and I am suffering the effects of a particularly demanding weekend, but I am really struggling to see the link between RR's bemoaning of freeloaders and the new ACCA logo. Please do elucidate

Thanks (0)
avatar
11th Jun 2007 11:40

Rabbiteator
He went into a somewhat different thread. You may want to eat him there!

Thanks (0)
Share this content