Ensuring client payroll data is protected as we continue to work remotely

6th Aug 2021
Brought to you by
brightpay
Share this content

For accountants and bureaus, using a payroll software that gives multiple users access to the payroll data is crucial to reduce workload and improve accuracy. With that said, there will always be a need to separate data so that it is only accessible by specific users.  

When it comes to payroll and dealing with sensitive information, making sure your clients’ data is secure is of the utmost importance. In accordance with UK GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation), you must know who has access to what data. Therefore, it is important that while you may need to allow multiple users access to payroll data, permissions should be set for each user on what they can and cannot access. 

Why is choosing a payroll software which allows multiple users important? 

Using payroll software that allows multiple users has become even more important since the COVID-19 pandemic forced many of us to work remotely. Colleagues may need to access the same employer files from different locations. To do this is not possible without multi-user capabilities.  

Bureaus, add as many users as you wish to a BrightPay Connect licence at no additional cost.

Payroll software that supports remote working 

With more of us than ever working remotely, it is important that you use payroll software that supports this. While BrightPay Payroll software remains desktop-based, all BrightPay licences come with ten activations, meaning payroll can be processed by ten different users or from ten separate locations. When BrightPay is used in tandem with its online add-on BrightPay Connect it allows for completely seamless "working from home" where there are multiple individuals who work on or require access to the same employer files. With BrightPay Connect, all payroll data is automatically backed up online every fifteen minutes or every time an employer file is closed.  

When you open an employer, BrightPay Connect will check to see if there is a more up-to-date version of the employer’s file. In other words, where someone else in your organisation worked on that employer or where you, from a different computer, worked on the employer. If a more up to date version is detected, you will be given the option to download the most up-to-date version or to continue with the version you are working on. You will also be notified if another user is currently working on the file you are trying to work on. You have the option to continue anyway or to be notified when the other user has finished. 

User Permissions 

In BrightPay, each employer file can be password protected. We strongly recommend that you password protect your files so only those authorised can access the employer data. In BrightPay Connect, administrators can invite colleagues as co-administrators or standard users. Bureaus have the option to add as many users as they wish to a BrightPay Connect licence at no additional cost. When adding a standard user, the administrator can either give them access to one or multiple clients’ data. Clients can also be added as a user to give them access to their own payroll data.  

Two Factor Authentication 

Two Factor Authentication can be enabled as a feature for users of BrightPay Connect. Two Factor Authentication is a second layer of protection to re-confirm the identity for users logging into BrightPay Connect through an internet browser or through BrightPay. This improves security, protects against fraud and lowers the risk of data breaches as users can access sensitive employer and employee data in Connect with the increased security layer. 

To learn more about BrightPay’s multi-user capabilities, book a free demo today with a member of the BrightPay Team. 

BrightPay

Related articles: