Editorial team AccountingWEB.co.uk
Share this content
Accounting Excellence Award
Accounting Excellence

Accounting Excellence 2019 award winners unveiled


The UK’s brightest and best accounting firms gathered at the Brewery in London on Thursday evening to discover the winners of AccountingWEB’s coveted Accounting Excellence firm awards.

13th Sep 2019
Editorial team AccountingWEB.co.uk
Share this content

Now in their ninth year, the awards are bigger than ever, with around 200 firms duking it out over 11 categories.

Hosted by Canadian comedian and TV panellist Katherine Ryan, award winners included newcomers to the Accounting Excellence family such as Next Level Business and Pell Artists, as well as previous nominees including Farnell Clarke and flinder.

The landmark Small Practice award was as hotly contested as ever, while other areas such as Specialist Team demonstrated the growth of niche firms or teams with outstanding entries from a variety of fields.

New to this year’s event was the Investing in People Award, the inclusion of which marks a surge in employee training and wellbeing initiative among firms in recent years.

Speaking at the ceremony AccountingWEB editor Tom Herbert commented that while the profession had seen incredible change in a relatively short space of time, accountants have adapted and flourished in uncertain times and the awards were a reflection of the inspiration and innovation present in the profession.

Glenn Collins, head of technical advisory at awards partner ACCA and awards judge commented: “Advances in technology inevitably are creating a fluid landscape, one that’s full of opportunities for accountants who are innovative in their approach. ACCA celebrates our members and the value they bring to the UK, the profession and the businesses they support. It is a privilege to sit on the judging panel and see their great achievements recognised at these awards tonight.”

Winners of the Software Excellence Awards were also announced, with a record number of votes cast by the profession for their favourite tools and platforms – full details are available here

Look out for further coverage in the weeks and months ahead as the winners share the secrets of their success and AccountingWEB presents more detailed findings on trends within the profession.

* * *

The award winners announced were:

Small Firm of the Year – supported by Xero

Winner: Next Level Business Ltd

Finalists: Purpose., Walji & Co, Infinity Partnership, Mazuma

Medium Firm of the Year – supported by FreeAgent

Winner: Farnell Clarke Ltd

Finalists: Green and Co, Nordens, Dunkley’s Chartered Accountants, Inspire

Large Firm of the Year – supported by TaxCalc

Winner: Crunch

Finalists: Kreston Reeves, MHA Carpenter Box, Ellacotts, Duncan & Toplis

New Firm of the Year – supported by Cashplus

Winner: Flinder

Finalists: Bee Accountancy, Youtopia Solutions Ltd, Giffords Chartered Accountants, CBTax

Fast-track Firm of the Year – supported by Capitalise

Winner: Flinder

Finalists: Inform Accounting Ltd, Sterling Accounting Solutions, HannawayCA, Clear House Accountants

Innovative Firm of the Year – supported by Receipt Bank

Winner: Flinder

Finalists: Pell Artists Ltd, Crunch, MHA Carpenter Box, Thorne Widgery

Specialist Team of the Year

Winner: Pell Artists

Finalists: Duncan & Toplis, UHY Hacker Young (East), E3 Consulting, Performance Accountancy

Client Service Award

Winner: Green and Co

Finalists: Crunch, Kreston Reeves, Dunkley’s Chartered Accountants, Mazuma

Investing in People Award – supported by QuickBooks

Winner: Seymour Taylor

Finalists: DNS Accountants LLP, Ellacotts, Kreston Reeves. Whitley Stimpson

Practice Pioneer of the Year – supported by Sage

Winner: Daniel Crowther (Thorne Widgery)

Finalists: Simon Cowie (Infinity Partnership), Gloria Murray (Murray Associates), Kieran Phelan (Cloud 360 Accounting), Nathan Keeley (MHA Carpenter Box)

Software Pioneer of the Year – supported by Convertr

Winner: Ollie Maitland (Capitalise)

Finalists: Alex Hawke (AccountancyManager), Caroline Plumb (Fluidly), Sinead McHale (Satago), Nathan Keeley (MHA Carpenter Box)