Editorial team AccountingWEB.co.uk
Share this content

Meet the 2018 Accounting Excellence Award nominees

14th Jun 2018
Editorial team AccountingWEB.co.uk
Share this content
Accounting Excellence

After weeks of careful deliberation from our team of expert judges, AccountingWEB is delighted to reveal the 2018 Accounting Excellence Awards shortlist.

After reviewing the submissions over 10 categories, our judges have decided on the firms and individuals who will be taking the next step towards Accounting Excellence glory. To see the shortlist scroll down or click here.

As always, one of the most hotly contested was the blue ribbon small practice award, which sparked a lively debate among the judges.

The competition was just as intense in the innovative firm, growth and client service categories, and entries for specialist team of the year soared off the back of the recent growth in niche firms or service teams.

While the list features plenty of familiar names, it also welcomes new additions including Kreston Reeves, Inca Caring and Giffords.

 “We’ve seen a fantastic crop of entrants for this year’s Accounting Excellence Awards,” said Tom Herbert, editor of AccountingWEB and Accounting Excellence judge.

“While growth remains the number one goal for the majority of entrants, the way they are doing it is subtly shifting, with a spike in firms using automation, AI and machine learning to increase their bottom line.”

New to the awards this year is the finance team of the year, with Creative England, Dr Will's and Perkbox receiving nods for accounting excellence.

“It’s great to see innovative finance teams getting in on the act and receiving acknowledgement for the agility and talent they display,” said Herbert.

“We’ll be digging into these and other topics from the awards over the next few months so keep checking the site and our Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter feeds for more details.”

Congratulations to all the firms and individuals who are driving excellence in the profession in 2018. The winners will be announced at a black-tie event in central London on 20 September.

Here are the nominees, listed in alphabetical order within their categories:

Large Practice of the Year          

  • Duncan & Toplis
  • Grunberg & Co Chartered Accountants
  • Kreston Reeves
  • Whitley Stimpson

Specialist Team of the Year

  • Jeffreys Henry
  • Nordens
  • Rouse Partners
  • Rowleys Medical Accountants

Medium Practice of the Year

  • Dunkley's Chartered Accountants
  • Green & Co Accountants and Tax Advisors
  • Nordens
  • Seymour Taylor

Practice Accountancy Pioneer of the Year          

  • Adrian Markey - Adrian Markey Ltd
  • Darren Fell - Crunch
  • Nigel Adams - Ad Valorem Accountancy Services
  • Warren Munson - Inspire

Finance Team of the Year          

  • Creative England
  • Dr Will's
  • Perkbox

Small Practice of the Year          

  • Fitton and Co.
  • Inca Caring Accounting
  • Infinity Partnership
  • Spicer & Co UK
  • The Accountancy Cloud
  • the numbercruncher

Innovative Firm of the Year       

  • flinder
  • Mazuma Money
  • Nordens
  • Soaring Falcon Accountancy
  • The Accountancy Cloud

New Firm of the Year    

  • flinder
  • Giffords Chartered Accountants
  • Hoffman & Cohen
  • J WIlliams & Co
  • PayKeeper
  • SIAL Healthcare Accountants

Client Service Firm of the Year  

  • Avery Martin Accountants
  • Green & Co Accountants and Tax Advisors
  • Kingsway
  • The Accountancy Office

Practice Growth Firm of the Year           

  • DNS Associates
  • Mercer & Hole
  • MHA Monahans
  • Nordens

The 2018 Accounting Excellence Awards would not be possible without the support of our sponsors and the efforts of their representatives on our judging panels. Our thanks go to them and all the other judges: Graham Southorn (judging chair for all awards), Della Hudson, Tony Margaretili (ICPA), Steve Pipe, Stuart Pringle, Gordon Gilchrist (2020 Group), Graham Lamont (Lamont Pridmore), Richard Sergeant (Principal Point), Philip Fisher, Mark Purdue (Thomson Reuters), Aynsley Damery (Tayabali Tomlin), Kevin McCallum (FreeAgent), Martin Bissett (Upward Spiral Partnership), Mark Lee, Glenn Collins (ACCA), Heather Townsend, Kelly Gibson, Ben Smith and Ben Heald (both Sift), John Stokdyk, Richard Hattersley, Tom Herbert, Francois Badenhorst and Mike Goldsmith (all AccountingWEB).

Accounting Excellence is AccountingWEB's programme of excellence, inspiration and celebration for the accounting profession. If you would like to hear more about the programme, please visit the Accounting Excellence website.

Replies (1)

Please login or register to join the discussion.

Tony Margaritelli, ICPA Chairman
By Tony Margaritelli
15th Jun 2018 08:26

Good luck to all the nominees. From my own experiences as judge and sponsor of the small practice section for some years to get nominated is a major achievement as year on year the quantity and quality of entrant gets higher and higher. Really looking forward to the awards evening and seeing all the happy faces- Tony Margaritelli - Chair ICPA

Thanks (1)